Tuesday, August 22, 2023

Consciousness Levels of Power

 "Power is total and complete in and of itself..." - David R. Hawkins
a picture of a DNA molecule

Thus far, we have discussed at a high level the difference between Power and force, and we have also talked about the consciousness levels of force. In this post, I want to delve into the levels of consciousness that are represented by Power. Once again, I have displayed the Scale of Consciousness table below for your reference.

Scale of Consciousness

Notice that the scale is broken into two main parts: Force at the bottom, and Power at the top. To reiterate, those emotions and actions associated with force tend to take away from life; they are generally destructive in nature. On the other hand, levels of Power tend to give life and energy; they are constructive in nature.

According to David Hawkins in his seminal work Power vs. Force, consciousness level 200 (courage) is the first non-destructive level on the scale. Courage is the level people operate at when they have drive to try new things. This is the level where people become excited about life. Whereas the levels below 200 are about frustration, anger, bitterness, etc., the level of courage is the first level people begin to let go of those negative emotions and embrace life fully.

At 250, neutrality takes hold. This is the level where people begin to realize that holding on to strong opinions and positions is what brings so much suffering. Those at neutrality see most issues not as something to take a side on but rather something to behold for what it is. Neutrality is marked by confidence and emotional stability.

Willingness (310) is the level of high self-esteem. Those who are willing are able to make the most of any and every situation in life. They don't feel like victims when things don't go their way. Instead, they find a way to move forward constructively.

At the level of acceptance (350), a person has learned to live in harmony with life around them. Rather than trying to change things, they accept everything for what it is. Those who operate from a state of acceptance understand that happiness and joy are simply emotions they can choose to have or not have. They are not dependent on any outside elements for these things.

Most of the United States and other western nations operate at the level of reason, which is 400 - 499. Reason is the level that encompasses science, math, logic, etc. Many great scientists and philosophers operated primarily in the range of reason. Knowledge, understanding, information, data, etc. are all important to those who operate from reason. Because of the finiteness of the human mind and the vast amount of knowledge available, Dr. Hawkins says few people transcend reason to reach higher levels of consciousness since they tend to spend an enormous amount of time rationalizing and reasoning through ideas and thoughts. Once a person is honed in on logic and reason, it can be quite difficult to go beyond these to the higher levels of consciousness.

When one does transcend reason, they come to a level of love (500). Love in this sense refers to a deep sense of caring, nurturing, support, forgiveness, etc. It is not an infatuation as we so often see portrayed in movies and television, rather it is an unconditional way of living that supersedes any external factors. David Hawkins describes it as a way of being.

As love grows deeper in one's life, one finds that they reach a state of immense joy that is also independent of external factors. This joy (level 540) often shows up in people as genuine compassion and perseverance in the face of prolonged adversity and trials. People who operate at the level of joy truly are unswayed by things going on around them - both good and bad. This is the level where we start to find saints and other great spiritual leaders.

At level 600 we find true peace. The Bible speaks of a peace that passes all understanding (Philippians 4), and that is what the 600s are all about. Many who get to this level of consciousness describe being in a state of bliss. Sometimes people who have an enormously transformative life experience, such as a near death experience, end up at this level or even higher. This is a peace that (like joy) cannot be perturbed by events in one's life.

The levels between 700 and 1000 are said to be levels of enlightenment. Obviously, the higher one goes on this scale, the fewer people one finds. In the 700-1000 range, only a few individuals in the entire history of mankind have managed to reach such heights. David Hawkins describes these levels as being closely associated with the Divine. People at these levels discover that they are not really an individual self but rather part of a much larger entity that encompasses all. He also makes a point that only a handful of individuals has ever reached the level of 1000, which is considered the highest that a human can go. According to Dr. Hawkins, Jesus, the Buddha, and Krishna and maybe one or two others have reached this level of consciousness.

Now that we have briefly reviewed the various levels of consciousness, we will next take a look at how you can apply these to your every day life.

No comments:

Post a Comment

We Are the Change

  "We change the world not by what we say or do but as a consequence of what we have become." - David R. Hawkins I love the quot...